Another member of my family.

Sometimes I find it hard to start writing a post. Often I will rub my fingers across the keyboard, hoping that my fingers will suddenly spring into life and the aimless thoughts in my head will take shape and make a post.

Sometimes I’m lucky, and sometimes…not so much. I think that this post will be a “not so much”.

I feel compelled to write something that will force encourage you to sign a petition for Save The Children in their call for more health workers in the poorest countries.

The latest campaign came to my notice via one of my fellow bloggers Salt & Caramel and through her post, I clicked a link to 100 word challenge.

There’s no way I’m going to keep this to 100 words.

I started sponsoring a child back in 2007 via Action Aid. The first little girl I sponsored disappeared from her village in East Africa after two years. Probably married off at the grand old age of 12 and living a life beyond my understanding. I feel so sad that she has gone…and then I confuse myself with thinking that I’m thinking in an “Imperialistic” way and that people should be able to live lives outside our constructed norms…and then I think…12. TWELVE. Getting married at fucking twelve?

The charity switched my sponsorship to a 5 year old boy who lives in South Africa. I have a photo of him. A smiling, shy boy wearing a pair of shorts and a t-shirt and a pair of crocs. Just a little boy. No different to my own and his letters are full of pictures of outlines of his hands and tales of a beloved grandfather.

He should have access to decent heath care.

So please, just sign the petition. It takes two seconds and might make a tiny difference.

On a related note:

If you want to donate to the East African Drought please go to:

UNICEF

or

Oxfam

Thank you.

 

 

About Party Spanner

check me out at www.partyspanner.com

Posted on 09/18/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

